Learn More About Arizona’s Sentencing Guidelines
Under Arizona law, courts have less discretion in sentencing people for a DUI than for other crimes. Following statutorily defined sentencing guidelines, judges many times simply look at the statute when sentencing you. While there are aggravating and mitigating factors to take into consideration, sentences for DUIs are a product of the state legislature.
For more information on sentencing guidelines, call the Phoenix, Arizona, Law Offices of Howard A. Snader, LLC at 602-957-3300. Attorney Howard Snader represents people throughout the cities of Mesa, Gilbert, Tempe, Scottsdale, Glendale, Peoria, Chandler, Casa Grande, Kingman, Prescott, Cottonwood, Flagstaff, Kingman, Avondale, Litchfield Park, Surprise, Yuma, Apache Junction, and Goodyear.
As a Criminal Law Specialist Certified by the Arizona Board of Legal Specialization, Howard Snader is experienced in deciphering and explaining sentencing guidelines to clients. Having an understanding of the guidelines before entering into plea barging with a prosecutor is helpful to your case. As a former Maricopa County prosecutor, attorney Howard Snader should know.
Schedule an appointment with us to discuss Arizona sentencing guidelines for the charges of:
- First Time DUI/DWI: Ten consecutive days in jail, a fine, a 90-day license suspension, chemical dependency assessment, counseling if recommended, and possible probation
- Second Time DUI/DWI: 90 consecutive days in jail, a fine, revocation of your license for one year, counseling if recommended, installation of ignition interlock device, and possible probation
- First Time Extreme DUI: 30 consecutive days in jail, a fine, revocation of your license for 90 days, counseling if recommended, installation of ignition interlock device, and possible probation
- Second Time Extreme DUI: 120 days in jail (60 days being consecutive), a fine, one-year license revocation, counseling if recommended, installation of ignition interlock device, and possible probation
- Felony DUI/DWI: At minimum four months in prison before eligible for probation or parole, fines, license revocation for three years, up to five years probation, possible substance abuse treatment, and possible vehicle forfeiture
These just a basic description of the sentencing guidelines, to learn more about sentencing guidelines for your DUI, call the Phoenix, Arizona, Law Offices of Howard A. Snader, LLC.
Call 602-957-3300 or contact me online for an initial consultation to discuss your criminal law matter.